Audience of One

Day: Tuesday, August 31st
Time: 6:30pm
Place: My Mom’s House
Mood: Mellow

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Words of Affirmation… according to the book The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman this is one of my dominate love languages.

*~*~*~*~*~*

The description of the Words of Affirmation love language is:

Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—. Hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.

*~*~*~*~*~*

This is truer of me concerning my friends, family, and mentors… basically, it matters to me what the people I care about think about me.

It hit me today and I realized that I rely on people too much for affirmation… He is the only ONE whose opinion matters. He is who I am living for. It is His purpose I am living out. It is Him I want to be like. 

I do what I do for God. It truly is His purpose I seek to live out every day – of that I am sure. But it is the approval of people that keeps me going.  It is the approval of people that affirms to me if I have made the right decision; if I am headed in the right direction, or if I am making progress.

There is nothing wrong to have your love tank filled by words of affirmation from those you love. It is okay to seek guidance and ask for opinions. HOWEVER, I cannot thrive off of THEIR affirmation ONLY.  The only approval I need should come from God. I have to be obedient to Him. The final word is His.

Am I doing what He askes of me – no matter what anyone else thinks?
Am I okay with people thinking I am crazy or weird when I do something they don’t understand or agree with?
Am I okay on my own? Relying solely on Jesus for love, comfort, advice, affirmation, direction…

The truth is that when you are in ministry or a position of leadership God is going to call you to do something: make a decision or change a direction and people around you (even those you care about) may not support or understand the decision you made. I have to be okay with that. 

God put a purpose in my heart. He laid out the path – He is calling me to fulfill it. I have to be obedient to get the job done. It is my responsibility to seek God for the vision and complete it – no matter what.

I will live for an audience of one. Will You?
He is truly all we need…

God is Sufficient!!!

 You say : “It’s impossible.”
God says : “All things are possible.” (Luke 18:27) 
 
You say : “I’m too tired.”
God says : “I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28-30) 

  You say :  “Nobody really loves me.”
God says : “I love you.” (John 3:16 & John 3:34) 

  You say : “I can’t go on .”
God says : “My grace is sufficient.” (2 Corinthians 12:9 & Psalm 91:15) 
 
You say : I can’t figure things out.”
God says : “I will direct your steps.” (Proverbs 3:5-6) 

  You say : “I can’t do it.”
God says : “You can do all things.” (Philippians 4:13) 

  You say : “I’m not able.”
God says : “I am able.” (2 Corinthians 9:8)

 You say:  “It’s not worth it.”
God says : “It will be worth it” (Roman 8:28) 

You say : “I can’t forgive myself.”
God says : “I forgive you.” (I John 1:9 & Romans 8:1) 

  You say : “I can’t manage.”
God says : “I will supply all your needs.” (Philippians 4:19)

  You say : “I’m afraid.”
God says : “I have not given you a spirit of fear.” (2 Timothy 1:7) 

  You say : “I’m always worried and frustrated.”
God says : “Cast all your cares on me.” (1 Peter 5:7) 
 
You say:  “I’m not smart enough.”
God says : “I give you wisdom.” (1 Corinthians 1:30) 

  You say : “I feel all alone.”
God says : “I will never leave you or forsake you.” (Hebrews 13:5)

 
Father, thank You for reminding us that You are all we need. Amen.

Leave a Reply

