One of “those” Days

Day: Tuesday, September 6th
Time: 9:30 pm
Place: My Mom’s House
Mood: sad, hurt, confused… blah

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have you ever had one of “those” days. You know the kind. Where  you nod your head, give that knowing look, and draw out the syllables. “One of thoooose (head nod + knowing look) days.” Are you picking up what I’m putting down? 

If not, I will just be blunt.

It was a plain ol’ crappy day. That’s right I said it. crappy. crappy. 
C-R-A-P-P-Y. CRAPPY!! (You might only appreciate that if you have seen a particular episode of I Love Lucy. Just Sayin’)

It didn’t start that way. In fact it was actually a pretty fantastic day. I would even say BETTER than fantastic. I really felt I was in the right place at the right time, doing what I was supposed to be doing at that particular moment in time until … o’ I’d say about 5:00pm

That’s when it hit the fan. And you know what I mean when I say “IT”. Like I said… It’s been one of thooooooose days!

Anyway, it got me to thinking. Just who hold’s the key to my happiness anyway? Who have I given that authority to? I’d say happiness is pretty important. So whoever holds that key MUST be important… right!?!?

Remember that Audience of One blog? Well, I admitted I struggled with living for an audience of one. I admitted I thrive off of words of affirmation. Well… I learned an important lesson today to confirm why it is so important to live for an audience of one. More specifically The One.

When we don’t live only for the approval of God we give people.
 – HUMANS –  power over us. It’s not that people are intentionally bad.  People don’t usually set out on a mission to hurt someone. But… we are human. That means we make mistakes. Say things we shouldn’t. Speak without thinking. Do things we should not do. Make assumptions and judgements that are only God’s to make…

Humans, simply put, let us down. I have let people down. People have let me down. If the person is smart, they admit their mistakes and ask for forgiveness. But, that’s not really the point of this blog. The point of this blog is not to bash humans or to point the finger.  People are actually a very vital and important part of our lives. The point of this though is to pose the question, Who holds the key “the power” to your true happiness? I realized today, that I have given people, well-intentioned, loving, kind, and human people too much power in my life.

Remember the song we sang as kids… “The wise man builds his house upon the rock…. The foolish man builds his house upon the sand…” Well when the rains of life pour down it is the man who built his house on the rock, The One, who stands firm.

Well… I did not stand firm today. I went “SPLAT”. I looked for approval from the world. I looked for affirmation from humans. I did not find it and crumbled under the pain of feeling rejected and misunderstood.  I won’t hide it. I was foolish. My “house” broke.

But remember, the one thing I desire from God is to gain wisdom, and I had a lesson in wisdom today.

Something just crossed my mind.

Think of any question you can…

Am I could enough?
Can I do this?
Will this turn out okay?
Can I overcome this?
Am I worthy?

You want to know the answer!?!?!

IN CHRIST ALONE

Who should hold the key to my happiness?

CHRIST ALONE

(who needs a magic 8 ball?!?! just sayin”)

The next time you are having “one of thoooose (head nod + knowing look) days” ask yourself…

Am I concerned about
CHRIST ALONE

AM I living for
CHRIST ALONE

Am I putting my faith in
CHRIST ALONE

Am I seeking to please
CHRIST ALONE

Is CHRIST ALONE enough for me?

That is a hard question to answer. Because we are human. We make  tend to live selfishly. We depend a lot on the people around us.  We get significance from success, wealth, awards, recognition, material possessions, good works…

But, when push comes to shove, deep down I hope you believe it is true and that your answer is

YES!!!

Christ Alone is Enough for Me!

P.S. My C-R-A-P-P-Y day just turned into Happy. Happy. H-A-P-P-Y. HAPPY!

=)

Leave a Reply

