D.A.W.G.

Day: Wednesday, September 7th
Time: 9:00 am
Place: My Mom’s House
Mood: full of anticipation

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sup Dawg? What’s crackin’?

Okay, that is not the type of “dawg” this blog is about. I just had to get that out of my system.

D.A.W.G = Day Alone With God

I had never heard about D.A.W.G before, but yesterday while working through the Portrait of a Leader workbook by Tim Elmore, he suggested carving out a D.A.W.G. for the following exercise which is a “Life Planing in 10 Steps” list. The list is designed to respond to during a single extended block of time. Solitude Time – you know time alone. Time to be left to your thoughts.

Philippians 4:8

 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable— if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things

THAT is what I am supposed to think about. But, after yesterday’s C-R-A… oh, I mean H-A-P-P-Y day, God knew I needed a reminder. If today is going to be a D.A.W.G kinda day I need to watch my thoughts. You know the kind…

Guilt. Fear. Worry. Self-Doubt. Self-Condemnation. Stress.  Pressures. Anxiety. Failure. C-R-A-P-P-Y Days. Mistakes.

um… I hate to state the obvious but those are not very comparable to true, noble, right, pure and lovely, admirable, excellent, or praiseworthy are they?

What types of things do you find yourself thinking about?

I bet that if I did not have the reminder that I had this morning, I would have thought self-condeming thoughts all day. The day that I carved out to spend time alone with God. The day that I believe God wants to show me something amazing.

Now just what ammo does Satan have to keep me from focusing on God’s Revelations? MY THOUGHTS.

uhh uuuhh, Satan. oooohhhhh nooooo!  I just don’t think so. NOT TODAY. NOT EVER. I am reclaiming my thoughts.

A couple of day ago I signed up to receive Proverbs 31 Daily Devotions. If I were the swearing kind, I’d swear they have been writing them just for me. But, I’m not, so I’ll chalk it up to one of those “God Things” 😉

Today’s devotion was called…

DRUMROLL PLEASE…

bradurnbreadrundru,drumdurmdumdumdumdum

(my best drum roll)

No Condemnation

That’s right. God’s got my back. We are tight like that.

I believe to some degree every person struggles with self-condemnation. This devotion is perfect to help fight away those thoughts. I especially love the reminder that we don’t have to defend ourselves. If God left us to defend the condemnation of ourselves or others we would lose the battle every time. But, and this is a BIG BUT, But God’s word promises the Lord himself will fight for us!!! hallelujah! And with that I am off for a D.A.W.G.

A Day Alone With God full of thoughts that are true, noble, lovely, praiseworthy…

Enjoy the devotion “No Condemnation” by Melissa Taylor! Click Here to View 

Leave a Reply

