Deep Clean

Day: Sunday, September 18th
Time: 11:00 pm
Place: Mom’s house
Mood: fantastic

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Psalm 51:10
Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. (KJV)

This afternoon I decided to deep clean my car. It REALLY needed it. As I was vigorously scrubbing the umpteenth spot, I thought to myself – how often have I taken the time to deep clean my life?

You could say that the first part of this journey God called me on has been the deep cleaning phase.

The cloud that hung over my life has been washed away, but I had to take a good hard look inside myself. I had to admit my weaknesses and mistakes. I had to forgive. I had to change my thoughts. I had to forget. I had to learn. I had to let go of fear and guilt. I had to stand up for myself. I had to say “”No”” to the world and people I love (which was soooooo hard) so I could say ““Yes”” to God.

I believe spiritual cleaning is biblical. Therefore … let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily hinders our progress… (Hebrews 12:1)

When I deep clean, sometimes the mess gets worse before it starts to look better. I can tell you that my life certainly felt messier when I started “deep cleaning”. It made me wonder if I had done the right thing. But just like when you are cleaning, I slowly started to notice a difference, and before I knew I was glowing with a whole new outlook.

If we don’t do a spiritual clean sweep consistently, sooner rather than later we will be in need of a spiritual deep clean.

No matter how big your mess don’t get scared away!  A little elbow grease can transform your life…

Hebrews 10:22
Let us draw near to God with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water.

Leave a Reply

