Building Trust

Day: Tuesday, September 27th
Time: 4:00pm
Place: In Beautiful Green Country  
Mood: umm…. I don’t know

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Learning to trust people again one step at a time.

For the most part I trust people. But, last night I realized that even though I very much want to trust, deep down I question my ability to do so. 

When friends you thought had your back, talk behind your back you lose a little trust. When a parent promises to do something, but rarely follows through you lose a little trust. When people take advantage of your generosity time-and-time-again you lose a little trust.  When the person who vowed to love and protect you for the rest of your life turns away from you, you lose a little trust.

Trust seems to slip away one person or one event at a time and before we know it, little by little, we start to completely lose trust.

Trust is…
1. reliance on the integrity, strength, ability, surety, etc., of a person or thing; confidence.
2. confident expectation of something; hope.
3.confidence in the certainty of future payment for property or goods received; credit: to sell merchandise on trust.
4. a person on whom or thing on which one relies: God is my trust.
5. the condition of one to whom something has been entrusted.

I have been asking myself, how am I going to trust again? How am I going to be able to overcome the hurt and pain?

I certainly want to trust and in everyday situations I almost always give the benefit of the doubt. But, when it comes to my heart, I realize that trust does not come so easily anymore. So what can I do about this? As I pondered these questions I was reminded of by previous blog “”BFF”.”
 
Sometimes I forget I have ““friends”” to help me trust. Wisdom, knowledge, common sense, and insight are all on my side.

Lady Wisdom will be your close friend
Brother Knowledge will be your pleasant companion
Good Sense will scout ahead of you for danger
Madame Insight will keep an eye out for you

Together they will keep you from making wrong turns and following bad directions.

I cannot live my life scared of being hurt, or I will miss out on so many opportunities, but at the same time I have to use the tools God gave me to watch out for people and situations that cannot be trusted.

I also have to remember that I only have limited knowledge and understanding of a situation. I see everything from my perspective. Proverbs 3:5-6 tells us to Trust in the Lord with all of our heart and not to “”trust”” in our own understanding. And if we acknowledge God in everything we do, He will show us where to go.

We cannot always trust other people or our own judgment. We have to use our common sense, insight, wisdom, and knowledge to help us make the decisions, but at the end of the day we have to put our total and complete Trust in God to lead us.

The truth is that people change. You may be able to trust someone one day but not the next.  And on the flip side, just because you could not trust someone yesterday doesn’t mean that you will never be able to trust them.

 BUT…
Jesus Christ is the same
yesterday and today and forever.
(Hebrews 13:8)

And that is why we can fully put our trust in Him every day. We know He won’t lead us astray or abandon our hearts.

Jeremiah 17:5-9

  This is what the LORD says:

“Cursed is the one who trusts in man,
   who draws strength from mere flesh
   and whose heart turns away from the LORD.
That person will be like a bush in the wastelands;
   they will not see prosperity when it comes.
They will dwell in the parched places of the desert,
   in a salt land where no one lives.

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the LORD,
   whose confidence is in him.
They will be like a tree planted by the water
   that sends out its roots by the stream.
It does not fear when heat comes;
   its leaves are always green.
It has no worries in a year of drought
   and never fails to bear fruit.”

I thought this scripture was perfect for the “Uprooted” journey I am on.
🙂

Leave a Reply

