Love Me Some Hymns

Day: Wednesday, October 19th
Time: 9:45pm
Place: A Comfy Couch
Mood:  reminicent and hopeful
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Not long ago on any given afternoon it was quite possible you could find me belting out old hymns while taking a long country drive to no-where  with none other than Lara Williams. We would sing them in our best old-timey operatic voices. We would make up our own verses, take turns being the back-up singer, and in desperate situations we sang them as loudly and as annoyingly as possible to drown out the sound of fighting children.

Today, an old hymn came to mind that really brought me comfort. It is the hymn -Standing on the Promises of God.

Glory in the highest I will shout and sing
I’m standing on the promises of God.
Standing on the promises that cannot fail
When the howling storms of doubt and fear assail.
By the living word of God I shall prevail.
I’m standing on the promises of God.

I’m leaning, leaning Safe and secure from all alarms
I’m leaning; I’m leaning, leaning on the everlasting arms

I particularly love the phrase, “Safe and Secure from all alarms.”

When we stand on God’s promises and rest in His everlasting arms we are safe and secure from all alarms. We are safe from panic and fear.  Satan came to kill, steal, and destroy EVERYTHING AND ANYTHING that is good and from God. He is the master liar and he is a great manipulator.  Satan alarms our hearts, not God. Satan causes us to believe things that are not true, so that he can steal, kill, and destroy the things that mean the most to us.

I have had to learn this truth the hard way. I am learning daily that we cannot go off of our feelings alone. Feelings can betray and deceive us. We have to act on truth and wisdom… aka… the promises of God. I guess it is just as they say “’live and learn””. It stinks awfully badly when the lesson that comes from livin’’ and learnin’’ comes at the cost of heart-ache, but as the song says “”By the living word of God I shall prevail.””

I am learning every day that fear and faith cannot co-exist. Yes, we may have feelings of fear, but fear is just that- a feeling. Faith is more than a feeling – it is trusting, hoping, believing, and acting on God’s promises despite how we feel. God is bigger than a feeling.

Some wise advice I heard recently…… Do you ever wonder why you feel like you can hear Satan all the time and in your head, but you have to strain to hear God?

Well, picture a husband and wife lying on the couch. The husband loves his wife so much that he wants to express to her how great his love is. Does he lean into her and scream in her face “I love you”? Or does he whisper it in her ear?

Satan is like a little dog – all bark and no bite. Satan has no juice to back up this threats and lies, so he has to scream at us. He uses fear and intimidation to keep us from God’s best.
God however is like a big dog. Big dogs don’t waste their time barking back at the little dogs. They just ignore the yapping, because they have the juice to back it up. God doesn’t need to yell at us. He doesn’t need to intimidate us. He loves us and wants us to be in an intimate relationship with Him. He wants us to pursue Him, like we pursue relationships, and when we do we will hear His voice – not as a threatening shout but as a loving whisper. God will do what He promises.

Has something ever happened that left you numb? Someone told you something that made your body tingle? You see something, read something, or hear something and a wave of anxiety rushes over you?

When that happens don’t let your feelings lead your next move. Don’t react based off how you are feeling. Stop. Remember God’s promises. And rest in His arms.  Learn from my mistakes and know it is not wise to make your choices based on fear.

Let’’s start making decisions based on faith not fear. I don’’t know about you, but I would rather have God’s best than let my emotions be the driver and dictator of my life.

*
Just a few of the many promises of God I will cling to:

I know there is a purpose for my sufferings (Ephesians 3:13)
I have been justified (Romans 5:1)
I am assured all things work together for good (Romans 8:28)
I am confident that God will perfect the work He has begun in me (Philippians 1:6
I have not been given a spirit of fear, but of power, love and self-discipline (2 Timothy 1:7)
I am given God’s glorious grace lavishly and without restriction (Ephesians 1:5,8
I have peace (Ephesians 2:14)
I am secure (Ephesians 2:20)
I can be humble, gentle, patient and lovingly tolerant of others (Ephesians 4:2
I am not alone (Hebrews 13:5)
I am growing (Colossians 2:7)
I am prayed for by Jesus Christ (John 17:20-23)
I am promised a full life (John 10:10)
I am victorious (I John 5:4)
My heart and mind is protected with God’s peace (Philippians 4:7)
I am chosen and dearly loved (Colossians 3:12)

Leave a Reply

