The List that Matters Most

Day: Friday, November 4th
Time: 2:30pm
Place: @ my desk
Mood:  thankful
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

November
Cool Temperatures
Orange and Red Falling Leaves
Thanksgiving
Time with Family and Friends
Holiday Cheer
ahhh…I just love it

I am sitting here at my desk feeling lost because there is so much to do and I don’t know where to start. I am praying for wisdom on what to tackle first. I am praying that God give me direction and bring the right people into my life to help me reach my goals and God’s purpose for my life. And while I am sitting here stressed, it hit me… why am I stressed? Why am I overwhelmed? Hasn’t God always come through? Where is my faith?

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. Matthew 6:34

I am a list person. I make lists; it’s what I do. I have work, home, and ministry to-do lists; I have wish lists, prayer lists, and a list of people I want to send cards to. I have lists of bills and lists of things that I don’’t want to do -but know I need to. I have lists of great ideas and dreams I hope one day come true. I have a list of my priorities and a list of traits and characteristics I hope are reflected in my life. 

But where is my “Thankful List”? Where is my list of answered prayers and praise reports?  Sometimes I get overwhelmed by what still needs to be done and goals that have not been reached that I forget to stop and celebrate the successes. Too often I forget to enjoy the moment, probably because I am too busy making more lists!

Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God will for you in Christ Jesus. 1 Thessalonians 5:16

I need to be thankful for what has already been accomplished and for the prayers that have already been answered. I need to be thankful for what I have right now.  I have always thought is silly when people don’’t stop to be thankful until it is Thanksgiving, how people don’’t say I love you until Valentine’s Day, and how people don’’t give extravagantly until Christmas. But, I am thankful that each year as the weather cools, the leaves change and fall, and the holidays draw near that I am reminded of the important things in life like thankfulness, the birth of Christ, and precious time with friends and family.

I am still going to be a list person, but I going to start another list and keep it at the top of the stack… and I think you already know the title of that list……

I guess there is no time like the present:

I am thankful……

– that I have a God who lets me start fresh every day
– for unconditional friendship
– for a car that starts every morning  – even when it is cold
– for family who would give their lives for me
– for the privilege to teach and impact others
– that I get to lead a team of women who change lives

Leave a Reply

