“Product Review”

When we want to purchase or invest in a product we often look for reviews to see if it is worth it before totally committing. We want to know what people who have used the product think about it.

Think of a weight-loss product. Which type of review would make you be sold out for the weight-loss drug?

Company Review – we often think whatever the company boasts is probably too good to be true. We get excited by what they show us, but in the back of our mind we wonder if it is too good to be true.

Online Review – we look for what the majority says. How many stars did the item get? If the majority of reviews are positive, we feel more confident in the product than with the company reviews alone.

Personal Review– when someone we know or meet has personally used the product, and they rave about it, we are more likely to invest in the product. Not only do we hear about the results, but often we can see the results.

So of the three types of reviews which one is the most convincing? I think we could all agree that a personal review from someone we know is the most convincing review that makes us confident when purchasing a product.

Let’s take it a step further:

Do you prefer a vague review or a detailed review? A lot of times the convincing power is in the details, don’t you think?

So we can all agree that a detailed – personal review is the best type of review that will make us feel most comfortable in purchasing a product.

When we find a product we love we don’t hesitate to share it with others. If they have a need and we know of a product that will fix their problem we are not bashful about sharing our experience with it. “You’ve gotta try this, it is amazing!” or “This is the best coffee ever!” … We can go on and on about the product and how it changed our lives or why it is so wonderful because… we believe in it.

Now, bear with me for just a moment… As Christians the “product” we want everyone to commit to is Jesus. If someone is unsure about becoming a follower of Christ or if they are unsure if God’s promises are true, just as when purchasing an item from a retailer, they also look for reviews. They want proof that it is worth doing things God’s way and not the world’s way. Why should I trust God? Why should I turn my back on the world and follow Christ?

The Bible (company) – To an unbeliever of course the bible is going to say good things about God. A lot of the stories in the bible almost seem too good to be true or hard to believe.

Online Review – The stories and opinions of others could be motivating, but they may or may not be true.

Personal Review– A personal testimony of how God worked in our live and changed us is empowering. God’s promises become tangible as we tell how we were transformed by the power of God.

2 Corinthians 4:13 says: “I believed; therefore I have spoken” Since we have that same spirit of faith, we also believe and therefore speak.

When we believe in something we speak out about it, but why when it comes to our personal testimonies do we have a hard time speaking out with the same confidence, enthusiasm, and conviction as we do with a miscellaneous item that we have tried and loved?

 Most of us, who believe in God, don’t have a problem at all declaring the word of the Lord. We have no problem speaking about Him, or sharing scripture. But, when it comes to sharing our personal story of how God took the bad, hard, and difficult things in our lives and transformed us, we often have difficulty sharing all the details. 

 I think the reason we have difficulty sharing the details of our stories is because of one word: Judgment.

 We believe the lie Satan puts in our heads: If you only knew… “If you only knew what I have done, or been through, or said, or… then …”

We leave out the bits and pieces that we think will change people’s view of us. Because we believe we will be judged if we become transparent and share the nitty-gritty details of our lives, we end up giving these vague – watered down testimonies – {out of fear} because we tell ourselves, “If they really knew what I have done and to the extent I did it – then it will ruin my reputation, or no one will take me seriously, or they won’t look up to me, or they won’t view me the way they did before.”

But the truth is, when we leave out the details, we are depriving God of all the Glory he deserves. The greater the struggle we overcame, the greater the triumph and when we share the details God gets all the glory.

2 Timothy 1:6-9 – For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind. Therefore do not be ashamed of the testimony of our Lord, nor of me His prisoner, but share with me in the sufferings for the gospel according to the power of God, who has saved us and called us with a holy calling, not according to our works, but according to His own purpose and grace which was given to us in Christ Jesus before time began.

Right after we are told God has not given us a spirit of fear but of power, we are told not to be ashamed of our testimony. Our works do NOT define who we are. Our works do NOT save us. ONLY God defines us, only he can save us. When it comes to sharing our testimony – we having nothing to fear. There is power in the spoken word. When the spirit of God calls you to share your testimony, it can result in life-change and transformation. Your personal testimony can end up with someone “buying the Product” – aka receiving and becoming sold-out to Christ.

Don’t let fear keep you from sharing! When someone opens up to you and tells you something they struggle with or shares a temptation they overcame, do you look at them and think – oh, now since I know this about you, I can no longer be your friend, I have lost all respect for you? How many times do we look down on a person for being transparent? My guess is that you don’t look down on that person for sharing their trials and struggles. I would bet seeing that person become transparent motivates and encourages you and despite knowing this we still believe the lie, “if you only knew” and we are fearful of opening up ourselves.

Rarely, if ever, when the Holy Spirit moves us to share our testimony does it result in Judgment. But I ask you this – is it worth the risk in being potentially “judged” if the result of sharing the details of your testimony could be a person totally sold out to Christ who will go on to share their testimony with others? Would you risk the possibility of someone passing judgment on you if you knew that the result of opening up, or not opening up, could lead to someone spending eternity in heaven… or in hell?

Revelation 12:11 They triumphed over him (satan) by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony.

I believe that freedom comes from sharing our testimony. I haven’t shared my full detailed testimony very many times, but the first time I swallowed my pride and shared it to a small group of women (my mom included!) the freedom that came was indescribable. I don’t have to live in fear of “someone finding out”. As a result of sharing my testimony, I have seen how my struggles have helped others be victorious and not take the path I took because I was bold enough to share my story.

I have told my “vague and watered down” testimony several times, and it is powerful. But I had a revelation that when I tell it holding nothing back, you cannot deny the power of God and how he transformed my life. When I give the whole story – God gets the credit he deserves for what He did in my life. It took me a long time to open up and share my story, because I was fearful that someone would use my testimony against me. I was afraid if word got out that I would not be credible.

Psalm 71:24 says, “My tongue will tell of your righteous acts all day long, for those who wanted to harm me have been put to shame and confusion”

I personally believe that when we share our testimony – God will protect us. Anyone who would want to harm us by using our testimony against us will be put to shame and confusion.

Satan wants us to have walls up around us. He knows freedom, victory, and life-change come when we become transparent and share our testimony. Satan lies to us and says, “You need protection so no one can see who you really are and what you have done and been through.” He lies because he knows he is defeated when we share our testimony. (Revelation 12:11: see above) But, I believe God wants us to take those walls down I think God is telling each of us:

 “Be transparent and people will see me and what I can do. Don’t hide how I have miraculously worked in your life. Don’t worry if they judge you, because I define you who you are not man. What you have been through does not determine your worth – I do.”

Luke 8: 38-39 “The man from whom the demons had gone begged that he might be with him, but Jesus sent him away, saying, “Return to your home, and declare how much God has done for you.” Just as this man was commanded to declare how much God did for him, I believe we are commanded to do the same.

Every person we encounter does not need to know every detail of your life. I am not suggesting that you go out the street corner and blurt out every detail of your life. However, I do hope that the next time the opportunity arises and the spirit leads you to share your detailed testimony that you will boldly declare how much God has done for you.

 Don’t hide behind a wall and think live with the fear of “if you only knew”, but with a spirit of power and of love and of a sound mind boldly give your personal-detailed “product review” of God and how he worked in your life.

I believe that if you do:

#1 – Satan will be defeated

#2 – God will get the glory He deserves

#3 – you will get the freedom you need

#4 – and the life person who hears your testimony will be transformed

Leave a Reply

