Time for some FUN!

Once again it is almost the weekend and I am not complaining, but at the same time I cannot believe how fast time flies by. My jaw literally dropped today when I realized that what I thought I did yesterday, I actually did an entire week ago. It just cannot be possible! The 4th chapter of John reminds us that we are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. I am confident that unless we intentionally live life on purpose, we will look back someday and ask: Where did the time go? What did I do?

Just the other day a friend of mine suggested that we tell each other one thing that we think the other should work on or improve during the upcoming year. Her suggestion to me was that I take more advantage of the moment I am in and not always say “One Day.” I have a lot of “professional” goals and aspirations that I hope to accomplish. However, it has often led me to tunnel vision with a one-track mind. I know God created me for a specific work and that He has called me to an important mission, but that doesn’t mean He does not want me to take time and enjoy all the amazing things the world He created has to offer.

In an article, written by Rick Warren, about the purpose driven life he wrote: Jesus doesn’t want you to live without fun. Jesus spoke more about being happy than He did about heaven. The apostle Matthew spent three years with Jesus and he wrote, “[Jesus] came, enjoying life” (Matthew 11:19 PH).

Even Jesus, who came to the earth for a specific purpose, took time to enjoy life. I believe the life Jesus lived on earth was the perfect example of how we should live. Jesus lived life on purpose, but He also enjoyed it. So, as a fun way to motivate myself to try to things and to enjoy life I am creating a new bucket list. I say “new” because I have created them before, but never kept up with them. I just turned 28 and I am going to write a list of 30 things I want to do before I turn 30. If I don’t accomplish them all, oh well. My 30-by-30 list won’t be just another “to-do” list where I feel the pressure to mark another thing off. My hope is just to remind myself to have a little fun and enjoy this earth God created.

So I would like to propose a toast to a lot more “Todays” in my future and a little less “One Days”!!!

I am off to start dreaming of all the possibilities and as soon as my list is created I will post it!

Leave a Reply

