Undeserved Unconditional Love

On more than one occasion lately I have been left speechless and on the verge of tears because of the sweetest cards I have ever received. I can’t help but wonder – What in the world did I ever do to deserve this kind of love? What did I do to be regarded with such kind words?  

As adults I think we often place our expectations too high. We expect certain things out of each relationship we are in and when the person falls short of that expectation we have a hard time knowing how to handle the disappointment.  Sometimes we set this imaginary standard in our minds of who we think we should be in a relationship and when the “standard” is not reached, we feel as though we fell short.

For the life of me, I cannot determine what I said or did that would result in a beautiful young teen girl referring to me as “Mom #2”. When I read those words on that crumpled lined paper I literally stopped in my tracks. All I could think was I have not spent a huge amount of time with her. I have not gone out of my way on very many occasions to pour into her life. I do not deserve this title. I have done nothing to earn it.

When I think about this kind of love I think about God’s love for us. What if He loved us conditionally? That is such a scary thought to me, because under no condition do I DESERVE the splendor of God’s unfailing love. What if God placed an expectation on me? I know I let Him down frequently:  I ignore His voice. I fail to spend time with Him. I try to take things into my own hands, before I go to Him for wisdom. If God placed the same expectation on His relationship with us as we often do with others, we would be doomed.

I believe we can always learn valuable lessons from watching children. I learned a big one today. I realize I need to make sure that I am not placing unrealistic expectations on my relationships. I also need to remind myself that the simple things really do matter and the little things do make an impact –sometimes a greater impact than we ever imagined.  

And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. – Matthew 18:3

 Today I am thankful for the undeserved, unconditional love of children and of my Heavenly Father.

 

 

Leave a Reply

