Under Full Waranty

My new favorite thing to do is to sit on my screened in balcony and soak in the majestic beauty of God’s glorious creation and read. Books are wonderful, but even the most biblically based books do not hold a candle to the Word of God. There is power in the Word!

Today I read a passage from the Message version of the bible that really grabbed a hold of me.  In the 11th chapter of Romans I read, “God’s gifts and God’s call are under full warranty – never canceled, never rescinded.”

We live in a very works and condition based society where grace is often in short supply. As long as we are doing what is expected of us and pleasing those around us everything is hunky-dory.  If you meet the expectations and needs of others you are loved and admired. But, if you stumble and fall (you know become human) then the adoration quickly vanishes. Grace and mercy are hard to be found when you are struggling through the valleys of life.

I will give to you as long as you do what I want. I will serve you if I can get something in return. This is often the mindset of our culture. As a result many people have only experienced selfish generosity and conditional love. No wonder we often have a hard time believing or understanding what it means when the bible tells us that where sin is increased, grace abounds even more. (Romans 5:20)

Gods grace, mercy, and love are not conditional. God’s grace is not in short supply; He gives extravagantly.

You are under the full warranty of the King. You have been called and no matter what you do, and no matter how many times you mess up God will NEVER withdraw your gifts or calling. Isn’t that so exciting?!

Sometimes I get caught up in the daily routine of life and let precious days slip away. There are other times where I become selfish and do what I want to do rather than what I need to do. I have even completely dropped the ball, and let laziness sneak in. When that happens I beat myself up. I get caught up in telling myself and thinking that I have messed up too many times to try to continue. I have believed the lie that God can’t use me now – my time has expired.  

Today I was invigorated with the truth that the gifts and call that God has on my life are under full warranty. If I don’t do what God has called me to do then I might miss some opportunities. I might slow down the process. I might put a kink in the hose. But, when I am ready to hop back on the horse I will not be met with rejection, I will be met with unconditional grace and a big huge “Yes!” from my savior.

 

Romans 11: 36

Everything comes from Him,

Everything happens through Him,

Everything ends up in Him.

Always glory! Always praise!

Yes. Yes. Yes.

 

I have experienced conditional love on this earth. I have experienced rejection when I did not do what someone else expected of me. I have felt the hurt and the pain that came when no grace was to be found. But, I have peace today. Peace that even when I mess up – Peace that even when others judge me and let me down –  God WILL meet me with grace and He STILL holds me in His hands. EVERYTHING ALWAYS ENDS UP IN HIM.

I am fully warranted. I am fully protected. I am fully loved.

Living then, as every one of us does, in pure grace, it is important that you do not misinterpret yourselves as people who are bringing this goodness to God. No, God brings it all to you. The only accurate way to understand ourselves is by what God is and by what He does for us, not by what we are and what we do for Him. (Romans 12:3)

Leave a Reply

