Beautiful Things

The arrival of October and the autumn season, has always excited me. I LOVE FALL. It is my most favorite time of the year. The leaves turn to beautiful shades of red and orange. The crisp cool air is refreshing after the long hot summer days. The autumn line of candles is out and who doesn’t like their house to smell like pumpkiny goodness? Yes, I typed pumpkiny, and it was on purpose. I love everything about the fall season. It is a signal that the holidays are upon us, which means yummy food and time with my family. What’s not to love?

The beauty of the fall season has always excited me, but this year the arrival of October brought about another kind of excitement and expectancy. You see, for the past two years around this time I have received special word from God, and I couldn’t help but wonder if it would happen again this year.

Two years ago, a lady at a women’s retreat approached me. She did not know me or what I was going through at the time, yet she came to me and said, “You need to know you are beautiful, you are beautiful inside and out, and you have a beautiful heart.” That word penetrated my heart and was the launch pad for my starting Beautiful You.

Last year on October 10th, I was given a special word from God from a guest speaker at my church.  “God’s anointing is on you. All that you have lost will be given back to you and your life will have a 180 degree turn around this year. It is all coming together.”

So as October rolled around this year, I began to look back on my life and all that had happened in this past year. Last October, I was a girl stepping out in faith with no plan. I went from jobless to having a job in ministry. I went from relying on friends and family for a place to live, to storing most of my stuff in my car, to having a little place to call my own. I have had so much fun fixing up and decorating my new home. The fears that plagued me from lost relationships have been replaced with peace and new beautiful friendships. My life today looks so much different than it did a year ago.

My life has indeed made a 180 degree turn in so many aspects. However, God told me last year all that I had lost would be returned to me, and despite all the changes, there are still some desires and dreams that have seemed so far out of reach- almost impossible.

I began to question those hopes and dreams. I didn’t know if I deserved to have those desires come to pass. Even though I know that God places desires within us and He longs to give us the desires of our hearts, I began wondering if the longings of my heart were missed opportunities.

Two days ago, on Thursday, October 4th, I spent all afternoon baring my heart to God in prayer {as if he didn’t already know what was on my heart}. That evening a friend came and told me that it had been on her heart to pray for me that afternoon. She shared this: “God wants you to know that He has not forgotten you. He is still working on your behalf. The desires and dreams that you have-He birthed in you. Don’t lose hope. He is at work in your life.”

I love how God knew I needed His comfort; He knew I needed His loving reassurance.

I am looking forward to the beautiful things my Father is working out in my life. I am thankful that despite my imperfections I serve a Savior who makes beautiful things out of dust. And while I am waiting, I am thankful that every where I look I am surrounded by His beauty in – Colorful leaves. Sweet friendships. Inspired lyrics. Fragrant candles. Crisp Air. A Loving family.

Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him and he will do this: He will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn.

Psalm 37: 4-5

Leave a Reply

