Invested

I am not very knowledgeable about the different forms of financing and investments, but what I do know is that an investment is putting money into something with the expectation of gain. Therefore, I think it would be appropriate to say that a wise investor would exercise much thought and consideration before making an investment in something. I know I would want to invest my resources in such a way that I would have the greatest chance for return.

 

Today, during church, this thought came to me:

Is God reaping a return for what He has invested in me? 

 

Within me God has invested specific passions, gifts, talents, and values that I need in order to fulfill the good works that He has prepared for me to do. He invested in me so that I can live a life that makes His name known. Ephesians 2:10 reminds us that: We are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.

My pastor reminded me today that God wants to change the world though me. It was a wake-up call. Our world desperately needs to find Christ. I am not guaranteed a tomorrow. I don’t know when Christ will return or  how much time I have to complete the tasks God needs me to complete. I want to live in such a way that others are coming to know Christ.  I want to make sure that I am using what God so carefully invested within me to accomplish His will for my life. 

Romans 6:16 says that whatever you pursue – that is what you belong to. Reading that stings a bit. I admit I have often pursued things of convenience and fulfilling my fleshly desires rather than being obedient to His call. I don’t want to belong to anything other than God; therefore, I must pursue Him. As I seek Him – He has never failed to respond. I seek Him because, it is in Christ that we find out who we are and what we are living for. The proof that we love God comes when we keep His commandments and are obedient to what He asks us to do – and the things He asks of us are not at all troublesome.

 God has invested supernatural power inside of me, and more than anything I want Him to  gain from what He has invested into my life.

My prayer is the same prayer Paul prayed to the faithful believers in Ephesus:

 I ask God of our Master, Jesus Christ, the God of glory – to make me intelligent and discerning in knowing Him personally, my eyes focused and clear, so that I can see exactly what it is He is calling me to do, to grasp the immensity of this glorious way of life He has for His followers, oh the utter extravagance of His work in us who trust Him – endless energy, boundless strength!

Leave a Reply

