Get Your Feet Wet

Have you ever needed a miracle? Have you ever waited for something to happen, for a prayer to be answered, and felt as though your prayers have been forgotten?

Sometimes we wait for God to work miracles in our lives and when nothing seems to be happening we often question God. I have been there. Not long ago after praying and hoping for a financial miracle, I began asking God why nothing had come through yet. I had tithed. I am active and use my time to serve others. I was expectantly waiting on God to come through and yet nothing had happened.

As I questioned Him, I looked around my house and I felt God telling me “Sell your stuff. You have the money right in front of you.” Now that was not the answer I was looking for. I love my stuff. I enjoy decorating my house and have put a lot of time and effort in to it.  And perhaps it was wrong, but I loved the compliments I got when others saw what I had done.

At first I thought – okay God I will do this. But the time passed and I didn’t sell a thing. I even began to question if it was really God who told me to sell my things, or if it was another one of my wacky ideas. However, as I began to seek God he made it abundantly clear that He was indeed asking me to take a step of faith and sell my loved belongings. I can’t count how many different messages I heard during this time that taught on this scripture from Luke – “You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

I heard the song “Go” by Hillsong United at just the right times and the lyrics pierced my heart: We are sold out to your calling. Everything that we are for Your Glory. Take our hearts now. Have it all now. Let our lives shine like light in the morning. We’re giving it all away, away. We’re giving it all to go your way.

At the end of the day I love God more than I love my stuff and I want to be obedient to what He calls me to do.

Once I took that step of faith and began to sell my stuff God really began showing me that He has big plans for me and that if I will trust Him, even when it is hard and when it does not make sense, He will provide. God began to show me that if I will focus on fulfilling my calling – the burning passion in my heart to speak in to the lives of girls and women that He will take care of the rest.

God wanted me to partner with Him. He wanted to know that I was willing to go the distance. He knew I valued my home and the “stuff” I had collected. But, He wanted to know that I valued Him more. God wanted to see if I would partner with Him. To see if I would take a step of faith and be willing to sacrifice in order to obey Him and receive the financial help that I need.

God wants us to be active in our faith; after all, faith without works is dead. God wants to know that we will go with Him no matter the cost.

I read this Facebook post this morning and loved it:

God commanded the priests (while they were approaching the Promised Land) to take a few steps into the river when they arrived at the Jordan river. They had to get their feet wet before the miracle came and they entered the Promised Land. Sometimes we need to take a step of faith and not just wait for God to work first.

Time to get your feet wet!

As I get my feet wet and put my hope in the Lord, I am excited to see what miracles He is going to work out in my life. I am excited to show off to the world HOW GOOD MY GOD IS!

2 thoughts on “Get Your Feet Wet

  1. Giggles says:

    I am a super impatient person. I was working at a job I hated and began questioning God why after applying to ump-teen-million job opportunities was I still unable to find something else. Then one day I gave into The Voice and quit blindly. I had no job lined up, no backup financial plan, and no clear idea of where I wanted to go.

    A year later I am 1,000 miles away from home, soon to be married with a beautiful 3 month old boy. I asked God to change my career and He changed my life for the better. I love what you said about getting your feet wet. It’s so important to put His wants into action and have PATIENCE in what His plan is especially when you’re unsure of where He is leading you.

Leave a Reply

