Show me your friends…

I remember the moment I decided to change my phone number. It was the night I realized I had the wrong people in my life and I needed to make a change.  A serious change that needed to happen fast. The decision to begin cutting people out of my life was difficult, but it was one of the best decisions I have ever made.

I love this quote from Pastor Craig Groeschel: “Show me your friends and I’ll show you your future.”

It is important to choose friends carefully. No matter how strong or independent we think we are, we become the people we hang out with. The truth is it’s impossible to live the right life when you have the wrong friends.

I have had to make some tough choices when it comes to the people I allow to have access to my life, but tonight as I sat across the table from two of my best friends, I realized it was all worth it.  While sipping hot chocolate we talked about life and I was reminded of how blessed I am.

I have friends who challenge me to reach my goals, encourage me to take steps of faith, support me in the tough times, and help me see my weaknesses. My friends give me stability and support. They laugh with me. Share their lives with me. Love me.

I am forever grateful for the friends God has brought in to my life.

Choose your friends wisely. Be intentional about who you allow in to your life, because who you allow in will determine the path your life will take. 

Leave a Reply

