Around the Table

Tonight a couple of students came over and we cooked dinner together. Since steaks were on the menu, I decided the best place to eat was around the table.  As I was setting the table, the comment was made: “We are sitting at the table!? That’s cool, my family never sits down at the table!”  A prayer was said before we began to eat, and although the three of us have known each other for a relatively short amount of time, it felt like I was in the presence of family.

There is just something about sitting around a table, praying together, and sharing a meal that can unite hearts.

While dinner was wonderful, what was even more wonderful was the conversation that took place. We talked about our dreams, ideas, and frustrations. Visions and goals were shared followed with encouragement to move forward. I was inspired as I listened to two young men talk about changing the world and overcoming their pasts, naysayers, and obstacles.  I have to say, my heart was very happy.

During the meal, we were not on our phones, and incoming phone calls were put off for later, because we knew the most important thing was to be there in the moment, listening to each other.

I cannot help but wonder, how many opportunities are missed because we don’t take time to sit around the table? To talk. To listen. To share.

There is something powerful about spending quality time with people and getting to know their hearts.  Life is busy. It is fast-paced. Tonight I was reminded how valuable it can be to take time to slow down and enjoy the company of friends.

Think about someone you can invite over. It doesn’t matter if your house is clean or if you have a fancy menu.  What matters is that you take the time to listen and talk about something that matters.

Today, I have heard that a bunch of discussion and attention has been given to a comment that was made on a popular television show, but the conversation that took place around my kitchen table tonight was far more important and worthy of my attention.

I love that I have a place to call home where I can invite people to come and share their hearts, talk about life, and be encouraged. I saw first-hand how important it is to provide an opportunity to unplug from life and gather around the table.

“Be very careful, then, how you live-not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity…”

Ephesians 5:15-16

Leave a Reply

